Skip to content

Biennale  /  Frieze Week London  /  Nights

Frieze Week London · Free to read · Updated October 6, 2026

Nights · October 12 to 18, 2026

Two Kinds of Evening

The openings anyone can walk into, the events that need a name on a list, the museums that stay open, and how to get home once the park gates have shut.

London
London. Photo: Ilya Grigorik, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3.0.

The lists   The Exhibitors  ·  Artists, Works & Programs  ·  Satellite Fair Galleries

How the nights work · checked October 6, 2026

The List and the Open Door

Frieze week in London runs two evening programs at once, and they barely touch. One is public, mostly free, and printed on gallery websites: a Tuesday of 6 pm openings in Mayfair and St James’s, two free concerts in the Turbine Hall, a hotel fair open until 8 pm four nights running. The other is a list. A name is on it or it is not.

Knowledge of the second program is thin. As of October 6, no outlet had reported a 2026 dinner, party or hotel takeover. What exists is the organizer’s schedule: Frieze’s program page shows a VIP program and gallery events, and no public evening event run by Frieze itself was found. The rest of what this page says about the closed-door week comes from accounts of 2024 and 2025, labeled by year.

The position taken here: plan around the open evenings. A gallery reception costs nothing and needs no introduction. The dinner afterward was never for sale.

One fact of geography shapes the week. The Frieze tents stand in a royal park whose pedestrian gates close at dusk, and sunset falls a little after 6 pm, by one almanac. The night happens elsewhere. Biennale is free to read.

6 to 8 pmthe standard opening reception (gallery sites)
2free live sessions in the Turbine Hall (Tate)
02026 parties reported by any outlet as of October 6
12:28 amlast southbound Bakerloo train from Regent’s Park (TfL)

Gallery receptions · free, no list

The Opening Nights

The week starts two days before the fair. Galleries time their fall shows to the collectors’ arrival, and the receptions fall on Monday and Tuesday, before the Wednesday preview claims the evening. Nobody brands Tuesday as a gallery night. The listings make it one.

A reception posted on a gallery’s own site is normally open to all, though few say so in writing. Frieze’s gallery events page marks some events Public and others VIP. Those labels rest on one reading of the page. Provisional

  1. Mon, Oct 12Glenn Ligon, Prompts, at Thomas Dane Gallery, 11 Duke Street St James’s, 6 to 8 pm. Timur Si-Qin opens at Albion Jeune, 16–17 Little Portland Street, per GalleriesNow. No reception hour found. Single source
  2. Tue, Oct 13The main night, 6 to 8 pm: Georg Baselitz at Thaddaeus Ropac, 37 Dover Street; Cindy Sherman and Lorna Simpson at Hauser & Wirth, 23 Savile Row; Antony Gormley at Cristea Roberts, 43 Pall Mall, per GalleriesNow. Frieze marks two more receptions Public at the same hour: Iván Argote at Perrotin, in Brook’s Mews, and Sophie Birch at Alice Amati. Frith Street Gallery holds a curator-led evening for Colin Self: Unseen from 5:30 to 7:30 pm. Pace, White Cube Mason’s Yard and GRIMM also open shows. No reception hours were found for those.
  3. Wed, Oct 14Preview day. William Crozier opens at Flowers, per London Art Roundup, which gives no hour. Single source
  4. Thu, Oct 15No gallery reception found. The evening belongs to the salerooms and the museum lates.
  5. Fri, Oct 16Celeste Rapone opens at Josh Lilley, and Marcin Dudek at Edel Assanti, per London Art Roundup. No hours found. Willoughby Gerrish holds a conversation and drinks for Emily Young, 7 to 9 pm, marked Public by Frieze.
  6. Sat, Oct 17No openings. Frieze’s West End Day, 11 am to 6 pm, is labeled VIP. The galleries on it are open to everyone anyway.
  7. Sun, Oct 18No evening events found.

What the timeline omits matters as much. White Cube Bermondsey, Lisson, Sadie Coles HQ, David Zwirner and Gagosian hold no receptions this week, because their shows opened in September. No named gallery night was found for Fitzrovia, the East End, Bermondsey or Cork Street. Hauser & Wirth keeps Savile Row open until 7 or 8 pm from Monday to Friday, by its own notice. Every show, by district, is on What to See.

Tickets, RSVPs and walk-ins

Evenings Anyone Can Attend

Tate Modern: Tarek Atoui, live

The Hyundai Commission by Tarek Atoui opens in the Turbine Hall on Tuesday, October 13, free. The evenings to hold are Friday and Saturday, when Atoui performs with Emptyset, Mazen Kerbaj, Kenichi Iwasa and Aya Metwalli from 7 to 8:30 pm. Both sessions are free with a ticket booked through Tate, and the museum is open until 9 pm.

Minor Attractions

Minor Attractions, at The Newman, 50 Newman Street, is free with an RSVP and open from noon to 8 pm, Tuesday to Friday, and to 6 pm on Saturday. Its program, all on the organizer’s page, reads like a week of nights out:

  • Tuesday, 8:30 pm. The Hang, the opening party, at Electrowerkz, 7 Torrens Street, with DJs Lucia Blayke, Jack Mudd and Joel Mignott. A separate RSVP is required.
  • Wednesday. A panel with Simon Amstell at the fair, 6:30 pm. A performance night at Stück, in Dalston, 7 pm.
  • Thursday, 7:30 pm. Mahjong Palace, a social evening. Venue not stated.
  • Friday, 6:30 pm. A closing event at The Horse Hospital.

Fairs with late hours

No fair is a late venue, with three partial exceptions. PAD London stays open until 8 pm on Tuesday, its first day, and the Affordable Art Fair in Battersea runs sessions from 5 to 9 pm on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, both per ArtRabbit. Single source On Thursday, Frieze Masters admits general ticket holders until 7 pm, two hours after Frieze London closes, by Frieze’s visitor information. Last entry is 30 minutes before closing.

At Somerset House, 1-54 closes at 7 pm. Its Thursday preview is on public sale at £100, and talks follow on Friday at 5 pm and Saturday at 5:30 pm. Hours for every fair are on The Fairs.

The ICA, on a loop

The Frieze × ICA artists’ film program runs from October 12 to 18, noon to 8 pm, as a continuous loop with no screenings to book. Entry is by a combination ticket with the Autumn Knight exhibition. Knight performs on Monday and Thursday at 7 pm, per the ICA.

The auctions

The evening sales are the week’s best free theater. Sotheby’s states that its London auctions are open to the public. Its Contemporary Evening Auction is on Thursday at 6 pm, at 34–35 New Bond Street, and can be followed live online. The page prints the hour as GMT while London is on summer time, so confirm it. Phillips sells on Thursday at 5 pm, at 30 Berkeley Square. Whether walk-in seats are available was not found. Christie’s sells on Wednesday evening. Its start time and attendance rules were not found. Lots and estimates are on The Fairs.

Museums after 6 pm

Lates, and Lates That Are Not

London’s museums have two kinds of late: the regular extended evening, and the programmed night with DJs and a theme. Frieze week has plenty of the first and, as far as could be found, none of the second.

Regular late openings, October 14 to 17, 2026, as stated by each institution unless noted. Confirm with the venue.
NightVenueUntil
WednesdaySouth London Gallery9 pm
ThursdayWhitechapel Gallery, Pay What You Can from 6 pm9 pm
Thursday, FridayBarbican Art Gallery, Pay What You Can on Thursday from 5 pm8 pm
Thursday, FridayThe Photographers’ Gallery8 pm
Thursday, SaturdayV&A East Museum and Storehouse10 pm
Thursday to Saturday180 Studios, Ryoji Ikeda9 pm
FridayNational Gallery9 pm
FridayBritish Museum8:30 pm
FridayV&A South Kensington10 pm
Friday, SaturdayTate Modern; Royal Academy; National Portrait Gallery, per GalleriesNow9 pm

Several familiar names are absent. The National Gallery’s Friday Lates season runs from October 23 to November 20, so October 16 is an ordinary late evening. The V&A’s Friday Late falls on the last Friday of the month. No Tate Modern Lates date for 2026 was found. The Courtauld’s lates skip from October 2 to November 6. The West End’s Art After Dark page relates to February, and no themed RA Lates night was found. Shows and prices are on What to See.

By invitation · as published

The Other Calendar

Everything here is closed to the general ticket holder. It is listed because readers will hear about it, and because the published version is tamer than the rumor.

The only detailed 2026 schedule is Frieze’s own VIP program, read once for this guide. A VIP invitation admits the holder and one guest, by Frieze’s FAQ. Single source

Evening events on Frieze’s VIP program, as listed by the organizer. Invitation or membership required. Not open to the public.
NightHoursEvent, as listed
Monday6:30 to 8:30 pmPrivate view of the Hyundai Commission, Tate Modern
Monday8 to 11 pmLaunch party for the film program, ICA
Tuesday4 to 9 pmPrivate view, Whitechapel Gallery
Tuesday6:30 to 9 pmPrivate view, The Photographers’ Gallery
Thursday7 to 9:30 pmPrivate view with Mr & Mrs Smith, No.9 Cork Street
Friday6:30 to 8:30 pmPrivate view of Anish Kapoor, Hayward Gallery
Saturday5 to 7 pmPerformances, Mosaic Rooms

A Frieze Masters talk on Friday at 5 pm appears both in the public talks series and on the VIP page. Check before assuming a fair ticket admits you. Beyond Frieze, the record is a few lines. Paid subscribers to the Art in Latin America newsletter receive VIP invitations to Paraíso. Haute Living, in September 2026, listed ten hotels positioning themselves for the week and dated no event at any. Not found for 2026: any report of a party at Soho House, Chiltern Firehouse, Maison Estelle, The Groucho Club or Annabel’s. Not yet announced

How it worked in 2025

Two diaries give last October’s shape. Ocula’s, by Louise Benson, began on Monday at White Cube Bermondsey’s opening and a nearby pub. Tuesday, by her account, held Lisson’s annual party at Maison Estelle on Dover Street, Pilar Corrias’s in the basement of Bar des Prés, and a White Cube party in Soho. Thursday ended at a King’s Cross pub with exhibitions in its former guest rooms.

Elephant’s, by Olivia Allen, ran from Soho Mews House on Tuesday to a Mayfair dinner on Wednesday and an after-party at The Groucho Club on Friday. A curator told the magazine it was the least scandalous Frieze to date. Frieze’s own 2025 listing shows a members’ party at FOLD, in E16, on the Thursday, from 7 pm to 2 am. A ticketing platform’s promotional guide, ARTSVP’s, put a British Museum gala on the Friday, at £2,000 a ticket. Single source

And in 2024

The 2024 record is slighter. Cultured reported its own invitation-only breakfast at Maison Estelle. The Art Newspaper ran a photo essay from the preview.

The accounts agree on a pattern, and it is only that. The large galleries hold their parties on Tuesday. Wednesday is for dinners and the first auctions. Thursday is the most crowded night. After the tents close, people move to Mayfair, Soho and Fitzrovia, where members’ clubs recur in the reports, and so do ordinary pubs. The hosts are on the People page.

Tables and bars · other people’s picks

Where the Trade Eats

Biennale has not eaten at these places and reviews none of them. Each is here because a named outlet recommended it, or because a dealer named it to one. Every pick dates from October 2025, and no source gives closing hours. Check that a place is still trading, and how late, before setting out.

The richest source is Livingetc, which asked dealers and Frieze staff for their haunts. The others are Plaster, Fine Dining Lovers and The Rakish Gent. An address appears only where a source printed one.

Restaurants and bars recommended for Frieze week by the outlets named, all in October 2025. Opening status in October 2026 was not checked.
PlaceDistrictRecommended by, October 2025Link
Fischer’sMaryleboneLucas Giles of Palmer Gallery, for schnitzelLivingetc
The Barley MowMaryleboneLucas Giles. A pubLivingetc
KuduMaryleboneTwo guidesFine Dining Lovers, The Rakish Gent
Café MuranoMaryleboneOne guideThe Rakish Gent
Passyunk Avenue, 80 Cleveland StFitzroviaListed under bars and pubsPlaster
ChishuruFitzroviaOne guide. West AfricanFine Dining Lovers
Noble RotLamb’s Conduit StreetLara Asole of MASSIMODECARLO, for dinnerLivingetc
The WolseleyMayfairJana Terblanche of Southern GuildLivingetc
The Painter’s Room, Claridge’sMayfairLoïc Le Gaillard of Carpenters Workshop Gallery and Karine Haimo of Pace, for MartinisLivingetc
Ikeda, 30 Brook StMayfairOne guide. JapanesePlaster
45 Jermyn StSt James’sOne guideThe Rakish Gent
MountainBeak Street, SohoValerio Capo of Gallery FUMILivingetc
Rita’sLexington Street, SohoEva Langret of Frieze and Freddie Powell of Ginny on FrederickLivingetc
The Vault, 3 Greek StSohoA bar, with live music on MondaysPlaster
ToklasNear the StrandSelvi May Akyildiz of No.9 Cork Street and Lara AsoleLivingetc
St. JOHNClerkenwellJana Terblanche and Freddie PowellLivingetc
The Eagle, 159 Farringdon RdClerkenwellA pubPlaster
The StandardKing’s CrossLara Asole, as the place the trade debriefs over drinksLivingetc

The same articles name more: Phoenix Palace, Roketsu, Cinder, Sabor, Café Deco, Rochelle Canteen, Brat, The Marksman and, for late gelato, Gelupo. Maison Estelle and The Groucho Club, which recur in last year’s diaries, admit members and their guests only.

Inside the tents, the bars shut with the fair. Frieze’s 2026 restaurant page lists Jikoni, Maison François, Rita’s and Sessions Arts Club at Frieze London, and Nobu, Pophams and Trullo at Frieze Masters. Daytime eating near the park is in Park & Rain.

Trains, gates and taxis

Getting Home

The park at dusk

The Royal Parks states that the pedestrian gates of The Regent’s Park close at dusk, at an hour that moves through the year. Vehicle gates stay open until midnight. The fairs close at 7 pm on most days, after sunset, and neither the park authority nor Frieze explains on the pages read how visitors leave once the gates have shut. Not stated The practical reading: leave by the fair’s own entrance, follow the stewards, and do not plan a twilight walk to Frieze Sculpture. Frieze describes no taxi rank or ride-hail point. Arrival routes are in the guide.

The Night Tube

The Night Tube runs on Friday and Saturday nights only, on five lines: Victoria, Jubilee, Central, Northern and Piccadilly, from about midnight to about 5:30 am, at off-peak fares, according to Visit London and a TfL release. The Bakerloo line, which serves Regent’s Park station, is not among them. Baker Street is also on the Jubilee line, which is. Station-level night service was not checked.

Last trains

The last Bakerloo train from Regent’s Park toward Elephant & Castle leaves at 12:28 am, by TfL’s station page. An unofficial site, lasttrip.uk, gives 12:27 am from Baker Street. The last northbound train, Sunday times and weekend closures were not found. Check TfL on the day.

Buses and taxis

Buses run through the night, by TfL’s account, at £1.75 a ride. Black taxis can be hailed in the street or taken from a rank, and all take cards. A minicab must be booked through a licensed operator, and the confirmation should show the vehicle registration and the driver’s name and license number. If the car or driver does not match, do not get in. An unbooked minicab is illegal.

Routes in, with prices

Without an Invitation

An invitation is a relationship with a gallery, and nobody sells one. What is for sale is proximity: a membership, a patrons’ group, a pass. The free routes come first because they work.

  • Free. The Tuesday openings, where the artists are usually present. Minor Attractions, whose evenings are built for meeting people. Tate Modern’s live sessions.
  • Frieze Connect. An annual membership, by application. Offsite Access costs £750. Select Access, at £990, or £1,650 for two, adds preview-day entry at one fair and the VIP program. All Access costs £1,430, or £2,420 for two.
  • Frieze Insider London. A one-week pass at £650: fair access for two from 11 am on October 15 to 18, a tour, and events across the city, subject to availability. It does not include Wednesday.
  • ICA. Membership is £60 a year. Membership+, at £300, includes the film program.
  • Royal Academy. Friends pay from £152, and Young Friends, ages 16 to 35, from £72. Patrons start at £1,000, on one reading of the page. Single source
  • Whitechapel Gallery. The Curator’s Circle costs £3,050 a year and includes an artist dinner.
  • Tate and the Contemporary Art Society. Tate Patrons has four levels. The Society’s Silver Patrons receive studio visits and VIP passes to fairs, Frieze among them. Neither publishes prices on the pages read.

The arithmetic favors the modest end. A £60 membership buys a year of openings, which is where a newcomer becomes a familiar face. Nothing here buys a seat at a gallery dinner. Collecting does, eventually, and that is the subject of The London Art Scene.

The three-day Frieze week journey on My Biennale

Sources. Checked October 5 and 6, 2026. Frieze: program, VIP program, gallery events, visitor information, film release. Institutions: Tate; ICA; Minor Attractions; Sotheby’s; Phillips; GalleriesNow. Past years: Ocula; Elephant; Plaster. Tables: Livingetc; Fine Dining Lovers; The Rakish Gent. Transport: Visit London; TfL; The Royal Parks. TfL’s Night Tube page and ARTnews could not be opened. Accounts of past years are those of the outlets named, paraphrased, and were not independently verified. Biennale is an independent publication and is not affiliated with Frieze or with any fair, auction house, museum, restaurant or club named here. Times, prices and door policies change. Confirm them with the organizer. Corrections: contact@biennale.nyc.