Skip to content

Biennale  /  Frieze Week London  /  Park & Rain

Frieze Week London · Free to read · Updated October 6, 2026

Park & Rain · The practical page

Park and Rain

Two tents on grass in an English October: the weather, the bag rules, the way in from five airports, and where to sleep and eat once there.

London
London. Photo: Ilya Grigorik, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3.0.

The lists   The Exhibitors  ·  Artists, Works & Programs  ·  Satellite Fair Galleries

The premise

Two Tents on Wet Grass

Miami Art Week has a beach. Frieze week has a lawn. Frieze London and Frieze Masters are tents pitched on Marylebone Green and Gloucester Green, at opposite ends of The Regent’s Park, in a month when London averages a wet day in every three. The walk between them takes about 15 minutes and is out of doors, by Frieze’s account.

The consequences are specific. Expect about 61°F by day and 46°F at night. It is dark when the fairs close. The cloakroom will not take an umbrella. And on the last weekend the cheap train to Heathrow does not run.

The grass has a history. After the 2025 fairs the greens were closed for months and residents complained of churned mud, the Westminster Extra reported in February 2026. Single source Frieze, as quoted there, says it uses “comprehensive ground-protection measures”. The politics of the lawn are on the host city page; this page is about shoes. Dates, ticket prices and stations are on the guide.

61°Fmean daily high in October, 16°C, at Kew Gardens (Met Office, 1991–2020)
46°Fmean daily low, 8°C, at Kew Gardens (Met Office)
10.9October days with 1 mm of rain or more, at Kew Gardens (Met Office)
6:07 pmsunset on Thursday, October 15; sunrise 7:24 am (calendar.center)

Weather and light

Sixty-One Degrees, Dark by Six

The figures are the Met Office’s 30-year averages for October at Kew Gardens, in outer southwest London, the one station table that could be read for this guide. They are monthly normals, not a forecast.

At Kew the mean daily maximum is 15.97°C and the minimum 7.78°C: 61°F and 46°F. Rain totals 67.91 mm, about 2.7 inches, on 10.9 days of 31. Sunshine comes to 117.36 hours, which by this guide’s arithmetic is under four hours a day. The Met Office figures for Greenwich and Hampstead in Wikipedia’s climate tables fall in the same range.

The Light

Sunrise on Thursday, October 15 is at 7:24 am and sunset at 6:07 pm; by Sunday, sunset is 6:01 pm, by one almanac’s 2026 table. Timeanddate.com’s figures for 2025 agree to within a minute.

The fairs close at 7 pm on Friday and Saturday and at 6 pm on Sunday, so most visitors leave after sunset, across a park. The Royal Parks says the pedestrian gates close at dusk, and listed 7 pm on October 5. Neither the park nor Frieze explains how the last visitors get out. Leave with the crowd.

British Summer Time ends at 2 am on Sunday, October 25, according to Visit London, a week after the fairs close. Every time on these pages is summer time.

What Frieze’s Rules Imply

Frieze publishes no advice on clothes. Its house rules do the job instead.

  • Umbrellas cannot be left at the cloakroom at either fair. One that comes in is carried all afternoon.
  • Coats are checked free, but space is very limited and first come, first served.
  • Bags larger than 16 by 8 by 16 inches (40 by 20 by 40 cm) are refused. Frieze’s examples include suitcases, folding bicycles and scooters.
  • Backpacks: “Backpacks must be hand-carried, not worn.”
  • The bag drop: “Use of the bag drop will incur a £5 charge per item.”
  • Pets: “There are strictly no pets allowed at the fairs, with the exception of assistance animals.”
  • Food and drink from outside are not admitted. Frieze words the list two ways on two pages; both exclude a picnic.

Together the rules describe the ideal visitor: hooded, lightly coated, one small bag in one hand. Whether the fairs take cash, offer Wi-Fi or restrict photography is not stated on any Frieze page read.

Biennale

“Umbrella’s cannot be left at the cloakroom at either fair.”

— Frieze, in its visitor FAQs for 2026. The apostrophe is the organizer’s.

What to pack

One Small Bag, Hand-Carried

A day of Frieze passes through a heated tent, a park path and a London evening at about 46°F. The suitcase answers all three. The bag that goes through the door answers Frieze.

No dress code is published. The nearest thing is the observation in Country & Town House, in September 2026, that serious visitors wear flat shoes or sneakers and cover miles in a day. Single source The rest is arithmetic: each item below is tied to a fact on this page.

The packing list

Leave at the Hotel

Suitcases, scooters, folding bikes, pets, glass and drones are refused at the door, by Frieze’s visitor information. So is food. There are water refill points inside; Frieze does not say whether an empty bottle is admitted.

On the day of departure, do not bring luggage to the fair. A suitcase exceeds the bag limit, and on Saturday and Sunday the Piccadilly line to Heathrow is closed, as set out below.

Getting in and around

Five Airports, One Park

London has more airports than good ways of explaining them. Most fares below come from travel sites, not operators, and each is labeled with where it was read. Check the operator before buying.

Airports to central London: 2026 fares as published by Paliparan (P), Finding the Universe (F) and TravelSupermarket (T), all travel sites, read October 5 and 6, 2026. Rows with one letter are single-source. Confirm with the operator.
AirportServiceFareTime and terminusRead from
HeathrowElizabeth line£15.50, or from £13.90 Sources differAbout 30 minutes to Paddington, then Bond Street and Tottenham Court RoadP, F; Heathrow
HeathrowHeathrow Express£26 walk-up; from £10 well ahead15 minutes to PaddingtonP, F, T
HeathrowPiccadilly line£5.9050 to 60 minutes. Closed to Heathrow October 17–18P, F
HeathrowBlack cab£70 to £12030 to 60 minutesP
GatwickGatwick Express£24.1030 minutes to VictoriaF
GatwickThameslink or SouthernFrom £14.4035 to 60 minutes; Thameslink reaches St PancrasF
StanstedStansted ExpressFrom £2147 minutes to Liverpool Street; no contactlessF
LutonTrain and DART shuttleFrom £10.60, booked aheadAbout 30 minutesF
London CityDLR£3.30 to £3.90About 20 minutesF

The Elizabeth Line Question

The fare most visitors will pay is the one the sources disagree on. Two travel sites dated 2026 give £15.50 from Heathrow into Zone 1. Heathrow’s own page, undated, says fares start from £13.90, which may be an older or off-peak price. Budget for £15.50. Contactless cards and Oyster work on the Elizabeth line and the Tube, Heathrow says; on the Heathrow Express a tap costs the full £26 and does not count toward a cap, according to Finding the Universe.

By Eurostar

Eurostar arrives at St Pancras International. From King’s Cross St Pancras, the Circle, Hammersmith & City and Metropolitan lines run west to Great Portland Street, one of the three stations Frieze names for Frieze London. One guide’s count of the stops could not be verified and is not printed. It is not many.

Paying, Once in Town

Tap in and out with one card or phone and the charges stop at a daily cap. Since March 1, 2026, a Zone 1 Tube single is £3.10 at peak times and £3.00 off-peak, the Zones 1–2 daily cap is £8.90, and a bus is £1.75 with free transfers within the hour, by the Mayor of London’s fares decision. Stations for each tent are on the guide.

Between the Tents

The walk takes about 15 minutes. The alternative is free, in Frieze’s words: “A complimentary shuttle bus service departs approximately every 15 minutes from outside the Frieze London and Frieze Masters entrance”. That is all the FAQ says. Its hours, and whether the vehicles take wheelchairs, are not stated.

Cycles and Cars

Santander Cycles sells a day pass at £3.50 for unlimited rides of up to an hour each, under the tariff Transport for London set in April 2025; whether it changed in 2026 was not found. Bikes are locked at the racks by each entrance.

Drivers should know that the park is outside the Congestion Charge zone but inside the Ultra Low Emission Zone, at £12.50 a day for vehicles that do not comply, according to JustPark, a parking marketplace. Single source In 2025 the road to the Frieze London entrance was closed to all but residents from 9 am to 9 pm, by the Crown Estate Paving Commission’s notice; the 2026 notice was not found.

The Weekend Closures

Read this before booking a Sunday flight. Transport for London’s planned closures list, in the copy dated October 5, 2026, shows:

  • Piccadilly line, Saturday, October 17 and Sunday, October 18: no service between Hammersmith and Heathrow or Uxbridge, Night Tube included. The £5.90 route to the airport is shut both days.
  • Elizabeth line, Sunday, October 18: a reduced service between Paddington and Maidenhead and at Heathrow Terminal 4.
  • District line, both days: closed between Turnham Green and Ealing Broadway.
  • Sunday only: the DLR between Tower Gateway and Shadwell, and parts of the Mildmay, Windrush, Weaver and Suffragette lines.

For a weekend departure from Heathrow that leaves the Elizabeth line, thinner than usual on Sunday, and the Heathrow Express. Allow extra time. The same list shows nothing for the Bakerloo, Jubilee, Metropolitan, Circle, Hammersmith & City or Northern lines, so the stations Frieze names for the tents are unaffected as published. The list is reissued weekly: check it again.

Getting Home After Dark

The Night Tube runs on Friday and Saturday nights only, on the Victoria, Jubilee, Central, Northern and Piccadilly lines, according to Visit London. The Bakerloo line, which serves Regent’s Park station, is not among them; its last southbound train leaves at 12:28 am, by TfL’s station page. Black cabs can be hailed; a minicab must be booked through a licensed operator, TfL advises. More on the nights page.

Start a London trip on My Biennale

Where to stay

Marylebone, or a Tube Ride

Biennale has slept in none of these hotels. Each is named because Frieze lists it as a 2026 partner or because a publication recommended it, with the date. Check that a hotel is trading and what it charges before booking.

The geography is simple, on travel.art’s 2026 account. Single source Marylebone is closest, with The Marylebone Hotel, The Langham and The Mandeville each about 15 minutes on foot from the gates. Mayfair suits the galleries and auction houses, at 20 to 25 minutes’ walk. Fitzrovia sits between. Shoreditch is cheaper and about 30 minutes away by Tube. No published recommendation was found for King’s Cross or the South Bank.

Frieze’s Hotel Partners

Frieze’s hotels page for 2026 gives names only. As read on October 5: Claridge’s, The Connaught, The Berkeley, The Emory, Raffles London at The OWO, art’otel London Hoxton, The Mandeville, Broadwick Soho, The Standard, London, Meliá White House, The Clermont Victoria, The Clermont Charing Cross, The May Fair, The Cadogan, The Mandrake, Rosewood London, The Ned London, The Milestone Hotel & Residences, The Montague on the Gardens, The Chesterfield Mayfair, Hotel 41, The Rubens at the Palace and The Egerton House Hotel. A partnership is a commercial arrangement, not a review.

Hotels named for Frieze week or for art travelers, with the outlet, its date and the reason it gives. 2025 entries are a year old. Outlets: travel.art; Haute Living; Country & Town House; Tempus; Luxury London; Santorini Dave.
HotelDistrictThe outlet’s reasonRecommended by
The Marylebone Hotel; The LanghamMaryleboneAbout 15 minutes’ walk to the gatestravel.art, 2026; Santorini Dave, 2026
The Landmark LondonMaryleboneA Frieze partner in 2025; not on the 2026 listTempus, October 2025
Nobu Hotel London Portman SquareMaryleboneIts group runs Nobu at Frieze MastersLuxury London, October 2025
The BeaumontMayfairAntony Gormley’s sculpture ROOM contains a bedroomHaute Living, September 2026
45 Park LaneMayfairGreat Women Photographers, to November 14Country & Town House, September 2026
The DorchesterPark LaneOliver Messel suite with 1950s muralsHaute Living, September 2026
Charlotte Street HotelFitzroviaPaintings by Vanessa Bell and Duncan GrantHaute Living, September 2026
The London EDITIONFitzroviaHendrik Kerstens photographs in the roomsHaute Living, September 2026
The MandrakeFitzroviaArtist-in-residence program; a 2026 partnerHaute Living, September 2026
The HariBelgraviaRuns The Hari Art PrizeHaute Living, September 2026
The Hoxton; Mama ShelterShoreditchThe budget suggestiontravel.art, 2026

What Rooms Cost

None of these articles gave a nightly rate, so none is printed for October. The one hard figure belongs to The Newman, the Fitzrovia hotel that hosts Minor Attractions: opening rates from £695 a night in February 2026, as Hospitality Net reported. Across the market, Greater London hotels averaged £225 a night at 83% occupancy in October 2025, by VisitEngland’s data. No visitor levy applies this October; the proposal is on the host city page.

Where to eat

Lunch Is Inside, or After

Two rules decide lunch. Nothing to eat or drink may be brought in, and general admission allows no re-entry. A visitor who is hungry at 1 pm eats in the tent or leaves for good.

Inside the Fairs

Frieze’s restaurants page for 2026 lists, at Frieze London: Jikoni, Maison François, Rita’s, Sessions Arts Club and WatchHouse, with bars by Company Drinks, Sayuri and Yalumba. At Frieze Masters: Ham Yard Bar & Restaurant, Nobu, Pophams and Trullo.

The page gives names only. Frieze’s article on the 2025 line-up describes those that return: Maison François is French; Rita’s serves tacos and hot subs; Sessions Arts Club does European sharing plates; Sayuri pours tea and matcha; Nobu is Japanese and Trullo Italian. WatchHouse and Pophams were not in that article; Bao and Gail’s were, and are gone from the list. Prices and booking were not found.

Near the Park and the Galleries

The table lists other people’s recommendations. Biennale has eaten at none of these tables this year and offers no verdict. Wallpaper* and Fine Dining Lovers wrote for the 2025 fair, and restaurants close: check that a place is trading. Both Wallpaper* and Luxury London advise reserving ahead during the fair.

Restaurants near The Regent’s Park and the gallery districts. Addresses as published. Outlets: Frieze’s City Guide dining page, undated; Wallpaper*, updated October 7, 2025; Fine Dining Lovers, October 7, 2025; travel.art, 2026; Country & Town House, September 14, 2026.
PlaceAreaRecommended byDate
Jikoni19–21 Blandford Street, MaryleboneFrieze City Guide; Wallpaper*Undated; 2025
St John Marylebone; OttolenghiMarylebone LaneFrieze City GuideUndated
Chiltern FirehouseChiltern Street, MaryleboneFrieze City Guide; travel.artUndated; 2026
Fischer’s (Austrian)Marylebone High StreetWallpaper*2025
Kudu; Roketsu (kaiseki)MaryleboneFine Dining Lovers2025
Cinder (charcoal grill)St John’s Wood High StreetWallpaper*; Fine Dining Lovers2025
Chishuru (West African); CarouselFitzroviaFine Dining Lovers2025
Café DecoBloomsburyFine Dining Lovers2025
Mount St. Restaurant41–43 Mount Street, MayfairFrieze City Guide; Country & Town House; Wallpaper*September 2026
Noble Rot Mayfair; Kitty Fisher’s5 Trebeck Street; 10 Shepherd MarketFrieze City GuideUndated
Gymkhana; Isabel42 and 26 Albemarle StreetFrieze City GuideUndated
Scott’s (oyster bar)Mount StreetWallpaper*2025
Sabor (Spanish); Fonda (Mexican)Heddon StreetFine Dining Lovers; Wallpaper*2025
Maison FrançoisDuke Street, St James’sWallpaper*2025
The Wallace Collection caféManchester SquareWallpaper*; travel.art2025; 2026

Two notes on the table. Mount St. Restaurant runs a Palette to Plate menu through October, drawn from Manuela Wirth’s A Cookbook for Iwan, Country & Town House reports. Carousel was closed during Frieze 2025, by Fine Dining Lovers’ account, so check.

Museum Cafés

The Wallace Collection is the nearest museum café to the park in the lists read, and the only one two outlets agree on. The V&A has the best claim on history: its refreshment rooms of 1857 were the first in any museum. The National Gallery’s brasserie serves dinner until 9 pm on Fridays, by the gallery’s page. Where the dealers eat after seven is on the nights page.

Money and admin

Papers, Pounds and Plugs

The dull section that prevents the expensive mistake.

Permission to Enter

Most visitors who do not need a visa need an Electronic Travel Authorisation, including those from Europe, the United States, Canada and Australia; British and Irish passport holders do not. It costs £20, every traveler needs one, babies included, and it covers visits of up to six months, according to GOV.UK. The page gave no processing time: apply well ahead. A Standard Visitor visa, for those who need one, is £135.

Money, Tipping and VAT

Prices here are in pounds sterling. Restaurants often add a service charge, usually 12.5%; where they do not, 10 to 15% is customary. People generally do not tip in pubs. In taxis, round up. Hotel porters get £1 to £2 a bag. All of that is Visit London’s guidance.

There are no VAT refunds. Great Britain withdrew the scheme for overseas visitors on January 1, 2021, by the government’s notice, though retailers may sell free of VAT when shipping directly overseas. In September 2026 the opposition was still pledging to restore refunds, The National reported. Tax on art bought at the fair is taken up on the London art scene page.

Plugs, Emergencies, Sunday

British sockets take three-pin plugs at about 230 volts and have their own switch; visitors from lower-voltage countries may need a converter as well as an adapter, Visit London advises. Dial 999 or 112 for police, fire or ambulance, and 101 when it is not urgent. Most overseas visitors are covered by the National Health Service only for emergency treatment, and the government advises insurance, by the same source.

The fair’s last day is a Sunday. Shops larger than 280 square meters may open for six consecutive hours between 10 am and 6 pm, under the law for England and Wales. Commercial galleries are mostly closed, and both fairs shut at 6 pm.

Access at the Fairs

From Frieze’s accessibility page:

  • Wheelchairs can be borrowed from the cloakroom at both fairs, first come, first served. There is no dedicated pushing service.
  • Ramps at the entrances and exits of both tents; benches throughout; accessible toilets at both.
  • Hearing loops at the ticket, cloakroom and VIP desks. Sunflower lanyards at the information desks.
  • Companion tickets are free: book a ticket, then contact See Tickets customer service.
  • Tours are offered, including in British Sign Language. Dates and prices were not found.
  • Quieter hours, as Frieze indicates: Thursday from 2 to 5 pm and Friday from 11 am to 2 pm.

Frieze refers disabled drivers to The Royal Parks for bays in the park. It describes the tents as accessible to visitors with reduced mobility; it does not describe the floor.

Special cases

With Children, Slowly, or Cheaply

With Children

Under-2s need no ticket. Ages 2 to 17 need a child ticket at £10 and an adult, by Frieze’s ticket page. On wheels the news is good: “Strollers and buggies are allowed into the fair.” So say the FAQs. Both fairs have baby-changing; the nursing room is at Frieze London only. No children’s program inside the tents was found.

The better children’s venue is free: Frieze Sculpture, outdoors in the English Gardens until November 1, with a family guide this year. Elsewhere, 1-54 admits children of 12 and under free, by Somerset House’s listing, and the Affordable Art Fair in Battersea holds family mornings on Saturday and Sunday from 10 am to noon.

With Limited Mobility

The provisions are listed above. The open question is the crossing. Whether the free shuttle takes wheelchairs is not stated, and the alternative is a park path in October. Ask Frieze before the day, or visit one fair in one of the quieter windows.

On a Budget

  • Free: Frieze Sculpture, Minor Attractions, every commercial gallery, and the commissions listed under free things to see.
  • Cheapest way in: the student ticket, £32 for both fairs, bought online in advance.
  • Cheapest adult ticket: weekend general admission to one fair, £48. Saturday and Sunday are the cheapest days; Thursday, at £150, the dearest.
  • Cheaper fairs: 1-54 at £32, or £18 for concessions.
  • Getting about: buses at £1.75, the £8.90 daily cap, a £3.50 day of cycle hire.
  • Eating: before entry or after it.
Everything free in Frieze week

Quick answers

Five Questions

What is the weather like in London during Frieze week?

Cool and often damp. The Met Office’s October averages for Kew Gardens are a high of about 61°F (16°C), a low of about 46°F (8°C), and rain on about 11 days of the month. Sunset is just after 6 pm.

Can an umbrella or a backpack be taken into Frieze?

Yes, with conditions. Umbrellas cannot be left at the cloakroom, so they are carried inside. Backpacks must be carried in the hand. Nothing larger than 16 by 8 by 16 inches is admitted, and the bag drop costs £5 an item.

Is the Tube running to Heathrow on the last weekend?

Not the Piccadilly line. Transport for London’s list dated October 5 shows no service between Hammersmith and Heathrow on October 17 and 18. The Elizabeth line, reduced on Sunday, and the Heathrow Express remain. Check TfL in the week.

Is there transport between Frieze London and Frieze Masters?

A free shuttle bus runs about every 15 minutes from outside each entrance. The walk through the park takes about 15 minutes.

Do visitors need a visa or an ETA for the United Kingdom?

Most visitors who do not need a visa need an Electronic Travel Authorisation, at £20 per traveler, children included. British and Irish passport holders are exempt.

Sources. Checked October 5 and 6, 2026. Weather and light: the Met Office’s 1991–2020 averages for Kew Gardens; calendar.center; Visit London; The Royal Parks. Rules and access: Frieze’s VIP FAQs, FAQs, visitor information and accessibility pages, quoted only where two readings matched. Transport: TfL planned closures; the Mayor of London; Heathrow. Other airport fares come from travel sites, not operators. Hotels and restaurants: Frieze’s hotels and restaurants pages and the publications named beside each entry; Biennale visited and reviewed none. Admin: GOV.UK; Visit London. Not sourced, and so not printed: October rates for named hotels, prices in the fair restaurants, the shuttle’s hours and wheelchair access, the tent floor, Wi-Fi, cash and photography rules, the Tube stops from St Pancras, and an ETA processing time. Confirm prices, hours and closures with the organizer or operator. Biennale is an independent publication and is not affiliated with Frieze or with any fair, hotel, restaurant or operator named here. Corrections: contact@biennale.nyc.